The terminal is located on land owned by the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey (PANYNJ), leased by the New York City Economic Development Corporation (NYCEDC), and operated by Ports OF America . This 13-acre complex in Red Hook, Brooklyn features breathtaking views of the New York skyline and harbor.
The terminal opened on April 15, 2006, following a $52 million investment by NYCEDC, with the arrival of the RMS Queen Mary 2. The terminal is 180,000 square feet and sits on Buttermilk Channel, a tidal strait separating Brooklyn from Governors Island.
The terminal was converted from a 1954 freight terminal and was earlier the site of the Atlantic Basin Iron Works. Ships from Carnival Corporation (which owns the Cunard and Princess Cruises) call the terminal their home port. On 15 and 16 July 2017, a racing circuit in the port and supporting roads hosted the Formula E electric car racing series's ninth and tenth round in the 2016–17 Formula E season.
Red Hook has been part of the Town of Brooklyn since it was organized in the 1600s, named for the red clay soil and the point of land projecting into the Upper New York Bay. Red Hook is the only part of New York City that has a fully frontal view of the Statue of Liberty.
A great place to explore for a day. Take a stroll down cobblestone streets, explore great places to eat, or relax and enjoy the views of Manhattan from the areas waterfront parks.
Parking at the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal is conveniently close by on the south side of the terminal entrance overlooking the Statue of Liberty. The parking lot has 500 parking spots plus 50 - 60 spots for bus parking (at an additional cost).